Experienced Arizona DUI Defense Attorneys 

According to the State of Arizona Highway Safety Annual Report for Fiscal Year 2018, law enforcement officials conducted over one million traffic stops, approximately 27,000 of which were for alleged driving under the influence (DUI). While not every DUI charge will lead to a conviction, Arizona prosecutors continue to take DUI crimes seriously.

At Chuck Franklin Law, our skilled Arizona DUI defense lawyers have been representing accused clients since 1987. With our firm’s good relationship with area prosecutors, we are in a unique position to help many clients successfully fight DUI charges. To talk to Chuck Franklin directly, call (480) 545-0700.

Arizona DUI Laws

As identified by the Arizona Governor’s Office of Highway Safety, the state of Arizona has numerous DUI laws that apply to a variety of situations. Most DUI offenses in Arizona are misdemeanors, but DUI offenses that reach a certain severity level become felonies.

Misdemeanor DUI Offenses

In Arizona, the following DUI crimes are categorized as misdemeanors:

  • Arizona Statute Section 4-244.34 – Underage DUI
  • Arizona Statute Section 28-1381(A)(1) – DUI Involving Influence/Impairment to the Slightest Degree
  • Arizona Statute Section 28-1381(A)(2) – Standard DUI (driving with a BAC of .08 or greater)
  • Arizona Statute Section 28-1381(A)(3) – DUI Involving a Drug or Metabolite
  • Arizona Statute Section 28-1381(A)(4) – DUI Involving Commercial Vehicle
  • Arizona Statute Section 28-1382(A)(1) – Extreme DUI (BAC of .15 or greater)
  • Arizona Statute Section 28-1382(A)(2) – Super Extreme DUI (BAC of .20 or greater)

Felony DUI Offenses (Aggravated DUI)

Aggravated felony DUI offenses in Arizona include, among others, the following:

  • Arizona Statute Section 28-1383(A)(1) – DUI with Suspended License
  • Arizona Statute Section 28-1383(A)(2) – Third or Subsequent DUI in 84 Months
  • Arizona Statute Section 28-1383(A)(3) – DUI With Passenger Under 15 Years Old
  • Arizona Statute Section 28-1383(A)(4) – DUI in Violation of Interlock Requirement

A DUI offense that involves the death of another is considered vehicular manslaughter. Per Arizona Statute Section 13-1103(A)(1), a person may be found guilty of manslaughter if the person recklessly caused the death of another person.

Arizona DUI Penalties

Under Arizona law, all misdemeanor DUI offenses are class 1 misdemeanors, which carry a potential jail sentence of up to six months. Additionally, individuals convicted of any DUI offense in Arizona may be required to undergo drug and alcohol counseling, may have a suspended or revoked driver’s license, may have to undergo drug and alcohol testing, and may be required to install an ignition interlock device on their vehicles. The penalties associated with each DUI conviction will be commensurate with the severity of the offense.

Depending on the specific aggravated DUI offense at issue, an individual may face a class 4 felony, which carries potential jail time between 1 year and 3.75 years. Another aggravated DUI offense is considered a class 6 felony, which carries potential jail time between .33 years (4 months) and 2 years. A person convicted of DUI manslaughter faces a class 2 felony, which carries potential jail time between 3 years and 12.5 years. Repeat felony offenders face enhanced jail sentences. 

Choosing an Advocate to Represent Your Rights

The American criminal justice system provides a means for all individuals facing criminal charges to receive legal representation. The Arizona legal system employs a strong team of public defenders. However, public defenders often have limited resources, making it difficult to put forth the best possible defense against aggressive prosecutors. As such, even if a misdemeanor DUI conviction may not seem serious, you could avoid harsh penalties or a conviction altogether by choosing to work with a skilled Arizona DUI defense attorney.

Contact Chuck Franklin Law Today for a Free Consultation

If you are facing DUI charges in Arizona, reaching out for legal guidance is an important step to consider taking immediately following arrest. At Chuck Franklin Law, we have more than 35 years of experience representing clients accused of crimes across the state of Arizona. Schedule your free consultation today by calling (480) 545-0700.