Repeat DUI or DWI Offense

All DUI/DWI offenses are serious, but subsequent offenses are especially harsh if you are convicted. Your auto insurance premiums will increase sharply and your coverage may be terminated. Your employment and educational opportunities may be limited by repeat DUI/DWI convictions on your record and your driver’s license could be revoked.

I am attorney Chuck Franklin, and I have experience with repeat DUI/DWI defense as well as felony DUI defense since 1987. I understand the severe nature of repeat DUI penalties and will work diligently to reduce the charges, get the case dismissed, when possible or present your defense in front of a jury. Call my office at 480-295-7160 or 800-634-9271 to schedule a free consultation.

Experienced Legal Counsel Is Essential In Subsequent DUI Cases

Prosecutors, judges and juries are less likely to be forgiving if you are charged for a second, third or fourth DUI. You must have a lawyer with the skills needed to effectively fight for you in court. I prepare all cases for trial so you can be assured that I am ready to defend you in front of a jury when it is in your best interest to do so.

For experienced legal representation for your Repeat DUI Offense in Arizona call Chuck Franklin Law today at 480-545-0700 and arrange a free consultation!

Penalties for a Repeat DUI Offense

In Arizona, misdemeanor DUI charges for a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 percent and less than .15 percent, or drugs or their metabolites in your urine or blood, may result in the following penalties if you are convicted of a second offense:

  • 90 days in jail, with 60 days suspended upon successful completion of a substance abuse screening program. (Home detention may be available after the first 20 percent of the initial jail sentence is served.)
  • $500 fine plus an 84 percent surcharge
  • $1,250 prison construction fund assessment and $1,250 Department of Public Safety (DPS) fund assessment
  • Jail incarceration costs
  • Additional action from the Motor Vehicle Division, including a one-year license revocation
  • Mandatory substance abuse screening and counseling
  • Minimum 30 hours of community service
  • Ignition interlock device installed on vehicle

Extreme Repeat DUI Offense

You may be charged with extreme second offense DUI if your BAC is .15 percent to .199 percent. Penalties for a second offense include:

  • 120 days in jail with the first 60 days served consecutively. (Home detention may be available after the first 20 percent of the initial jail sentence is served.)
  • $500 fine plus an 84 percent surcharge
  • $1,250 prison construction fund assessment and $1,250 DPS fund assessment and $250 DUI abatement fee
  • Jail incarceration costs
  • Additional action from the MVD, including a one-year license revocation
  • Mandatory substance abuse counseling
  • Minimum 30 hours of community service
  • Ignition interlock device installed on vehicle

Super Extreme Repeat DUI Offense

Super extreme DUI is the charge for a BAC of .20 percent or higher. Penalties for a second offense include:

  • 180 days in jail. (Home detention may be available after the first 20 percent of the initial jail sentence is served.)
  • $1,000 fine plus an 84 percent surcharge
  • $1,250 prison construction fund assessment and $1,250 DPS fund assessment and $250 DUI abatement fee
  • Jail incarceration costs
  • Additional action from the MVD, including a one-year license revocation
  • Mandatory substance abuse counseling
  • Minimum 30 hours of community service
  • Ignition interlock device installed on vehicle

Contact Us About Your Repeat DUI/DWI Matter Today

For a free consultation and to speak to an actual attorney,  not some professional closer or sales person, call Chuck Franklin Law today at 480-545-0700!